SOS Japan - Grind Kaijyu Attack!

Split 12" picture disc with Napalm Death

Released by:
• FETO Records, UK

Recording info:
• Recorded January 9, 2004 at Club Quattro, Osaka, Japan by Bo Lund.
• Edited by Anders Jakobson.
• Mastered by Scott Hull.

Mieszko Talarczyk - vocals and guitar
Urban Skytt - guitar
Jon Lindqvist - bas
Anders Jakobson - drums

Comments by Anders Jakobson:

About the release...

After bonding with Napalm Death on the seven week long European tour in 2000, we became friends for life. There was talk about doing a split for many years, with one exciting idea floating around where we should trade one cover with each other. During the "Helvete" session we recorded "Unchallanged Hate" and had a few extra songs that would be our part of the split. But that never happened.

During our second tour together, a short round in Japan, we picked up the discussions about doing a live split instead. The idea kept going for many, many years, actually for such a long time that I never thought it would happen, but then it did. Shane Embury released it as a split 12" picture disc on his own label F.E.T.O.

About the recording...

This show was recorded in Osaka at Quattro Club on the first evening of Nasum's second tour of Japan. Our Danish sound engineer Bo Lund, who met while touring with The Haunted and who came with us on both trips to Japan, recorded all the shows on his mini disc, but the best recording was without question the first one.

I have a clear and vidid, perhaps partly manufactured, memory of the five of us coming out of an elevator at the Osaka hotel and stopping to listen to the recording. Bo passed around his headphones and we were all amazed of the good quality of the sound. Now, Bo is a very talented sound engineer but this recording was something special. We had recorded ourselves a couple of times earlier but never been able to really capture our sound and the feeling of our show. This time we succeeded.

A couple of years later I did some editing to the recording, touching up the sound, removing tracks which were bad either sound wise or playing wise, moved around some songs and came up with the 16 tracks that makes up this live recording. We always put our songs in blocks of perhaps two or three songs when we played live and this edited recording includes blocks that we never played. That makes this recording sound fresh even for me after all the shows with Nasum.

About the artwork...

One idea that was discussed during the tour in Japan was to have a Japanese monster movie sort of artwork with two huge monsters fighting each other, one representing Nasum and the other Napalm Death.

But then Napalm Death got this great drawing of themselves that they used and I was without some proper artwork. I still liked the moster movie idea and talked to Jonathan Canady who did the layout for "Grind Finale" and ordered a image from him. He drew in the same style as Jeff Walked did Napalm Death's "Scum", even incorporating the same corporate logos in the image. A sort of tribute to Napalm Death and the original artwork idea.

Navigate through the discography

Photos of the release


1. Corrosion
2. Doombringer
3. Just Another Hog
4. Inhale/Exhale
5. Scoop
6. Bullshit
7. Relics
8. Löpandebandsprincipen
9. I Hate People
10. Masshypnosis
11. A Welcome Breeze Of Stinking Air
12. Fatal Search
13. This is...
14. The Masked Face
15. The Idiot Parade
16. Den Svarta Fanan