World In Turmoil

7" EP

Released by:
• Blurred Records, Japan

Recording info:
• Recorded November 5-6 1996, mixed December 31 1996 by Mathias Färm and Nasum in Punkpalatset, Örebro - Sweden

Line up:
Mieszko Talarczyk - guitar and vocals
Anders Jakobson - drums, bass and vocals

Comments by Anders Jakobson:

About the line-up change...

When Rickard left as our drummer and singer we tried to find a new drummer at first. We had one rehearsal with a friend. It didn’t really turn out that great so I decided to give it a try myself. Being a drummer since I was 10 years old, I had played a lot of different styles, but not grindcore. The first couple of tries were really exhausting, but I also felt that it was do-able. I could play grindcore, it was just a matter of practise.

The style of the first songs we wrote and recorded without Rickard is quite different from the older stuff which was pretty straight forward and really raw in its own way, while the new stuff was a bit more varied and dare I say, wild. Being a fan of a lot of different kinds of music and a completely different kind of drummer than Rickard I just couldn’t help myself. Another piece in the puzzle that is the Nasum sound...

About the recording...

This was one of the first collaborations between Mieszko and Mathias from Millencolin, that eventually would lead to the professional and digital Soundlab Studios. At this time, the "studio" was called Punkpalatset and was a small 8-track analog tape recorded and a broken mixing desk and it was in our rehearsal room. I have no idea how we pulled it of technically, but I remember that we had the drums in one corner and a guitar amp in the other to try to keep the drums as clean as possible. It was very fun to do this recording, which in total included 24 songs. It has a certain raw punk feeling and the songs are very inspired and varied.

As for the vocal duties we split it and Mieszko actually does some of the low vocals, and since the recording equipment was poor it's sometimes hard even for me to hear which one of us that is singing. I hadn't done much singing before and sang until I lost my voice... By some reason I decided that I didn't want to totally leave my prior string duties and recorded the bass. It was an ego thing, because it could as easily been done better and faster by Mieszko.

About the record and cover...

Narutoshi from C.S.S.O asked us to do a 7" EP on his Blurred Records label, so we did it. Not much more to say about that. The cover artwork was made by a friend of mine called Jonas Lannergård, who later did the Nasum logo in the Napalm Death style, and is sort of in the same vein as the "Blind World" cover. Grindcore aesthetics!

Navigate through the discography

Photos of the release

More to read

Read lyrics



1. World in Turmoil
2. The Final Confrontation (Scarecrows III)
3. The Dream
4. Zombie Society
5. Sheer Horror
6. Awake
7. En Värld Utan Hopp
8. End


1. As Time Goes By…
2. Our Revolution
3. Masqureade
4. Ripped
5. Rage
6. Law & Order?
7. Rise
8. Killed by Your Greed